Statement by the Commission Chairwoman, Condoleezza Rice

The Commission on College Basketball met for the first time last Friday, October 20th, via teleconference to discuss its charge and various organizational issues. 

The members of the commission expressed their commitment to finding lasting solutions for the problems that face collegiate basketball and reaffirmed their independence from the NCAA governance structure. Over the course of the next six months, the Commission will meet to discuss the issues, evaluate data, and engage key stakeholders. 

Our goal is to enhance and protect the intercollegiate athletic experience for every student-athlete and, in doing so, to safeguard the integrity of the game. 

Condoleezza Rice (chair), Former Provost, Stanford University; 66th U.S. Secretary of State 
Mary Sue Coleman, President, Association of American Universities 
General Martin E. Dempsey, U.S. Army, Retired; Chairman, USA Basketball 
Jeremy Foley, Athletics Director Emeritus, University of Florida Athletic Association
Jeffrey A. Hathaway, Vice President/Director of Athletics, Hofstra University 
Grant Hill, Owner/Vice Chairman, Atlanta Hawks 
Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C., President, University of Notre Dame 
Mike Montgomery, Retired Basketball Coach; Analyst, Pac-12 Networks & Westwood One Sports 
David Robinson, Founder, Admiral Capital Group 
Kathryn Ruemmler, Former White House Counsel; Partner, Latham & Watkins LLP 
Gene Smith, Sr. Vice President & Wolfe Foundation Endowed Athletics Director, Ohio State University 
John Thompson III, Board of Directors, National Association of Basketball Coaches 

Those attending ex-officio: 
Mark Emmert, President, National Collegiate Athletic Association 
G.P. “Bud” Peterson, President, Georgia Institute of Technology; Chair, NCAA Board of Governors


Contact: ShannonYork